School

Curabitur tellus mauris, fringilla sed tempus eget, convallis id orci. A teacher and pupil hard at work at East Park

East Park school provides education to children and young people between the ages of 5 and 19, with additional support  needs. All pupils have a significant learning difficulty coupled with additional disabilities including physical disability, sensory impairment, ADHD (Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder), Attachment disorder, ASD (Autism Spectrum Disorder) and challenging behaviour. A high proportion of the pupils are on the autistic spectrum and require specialist techniques and strategies in order to minimise the impact of their barriers to learning.  East Park provides comprehensive and appropriate learning environments and opportunities for this group of children/young people, for example through:

  • Personal learning plans
  • Individual and group teaching and learning
  • Elaborated curriculum based on the Curriculum for Excellence
  • Post-eighteen education
  • Links with colleges and other schools
  • Specialised resources and equipment
  • Use of community facilities and amenities

Many are non-verbal communicators, a significant number require intimate and personal care, the majority have no sense of danger, and all require a high staff ratio to enable them to successfully and appropriately access the full curriculum and the community.

Many of the young people have been referred to East Park after other placements have broken down.

School Term Dates

Calendar of Events at East Park

2017/18

School Staff Return - Learning Support Workers
10th August 2017

School Staff Return - Teachers
Friday 11th August 2017

Staff Learning and Development Days
Friday 11th and Monday 14th August 2017

Pupils Return Date
Tuesday 15th August 2017

September Weekend
Friday 22nd and Monday 25th September 2017

Pupils finish for October Break
Thursday 12th October 2017 at 3pm

Staff Learning and Development
Friday 13th October 2017

October Break
Monday 16th to Friday 20th October 2017 (inclusive)

Pupil Return Date
Monday 23rd October 2017

Pupils finish for Christmas/New Year
Wednesday 20th December 2017 at 2:30pm

Christmas/New Year Holidays
Thursday 21st December 2017 to Wednesday 3rd January 2018 (inclusive)

2018

Return Date
Thursday 4th January 2018

Pupils finish for February Break
Friday 9th February 2018 at 3pm

February Break
Monday 12th and Tuesday 13th February 2018

Staff Learning and Development
Wednesday 14th February 2018

Pupil Return Date
Thursday 15th February 2018

Pupils finish for Spring Holiday
Thursday 29th March 2018 at 3pm

Spring Holiday
Friday 30th March to Friday 13th April 2018 (inclusive)

Please note: Good Friday 30th March and Easter Monday 2nd April

Pupil Return Date
Monday 16th April 2018

Pupils finish for May Holiday
Friday 4th May 2018 at 3pm

May Holiday
Monday 7th May 2018 to Tuesday 8th May 2018 (inclusive)

Staff Learning and Development Day
Tuesday 8th May

Pupil Return Date
Wednesday 9th May

Pupils finish for May Weekend Pupils
Thursday 24th May 2018 at 3pm

May Weekend
Friday 25th May and Monday 28th May 2018

Pupil Return Date
Tuesday 29th May 2018

Pupils finish for Summer Break
Tuesday 26th June 2018 at 2:30pm